Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Montenegro day 1

    July 27, 2022 in Montenegro ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    Today we all got some much needed sleep. We woke up late and jumped right in the pool. The kids swam forever. We had breakfast Al fresco and then swam more. It was hot out, but the pool was perfect and refreshing. The kids put in a good five hours swimming. Many of us took turns exploring the hike down to the town. We did some more grocery shopping. I just love walking around grocery stores in other countries. I got to use some of the ten words that I know in Montenegrin. A lot of people here don’t really speak English, or they speak very little. I love being in a place that is completely foreign to me! The people here are very kind. And tall! After even more swimming we all hiked down the path (quite steep) to the tiny town of Bigova. Population 101. There are two restaurants and a tiny market by the port. We ate at a super authentic restaurant. Our waiter didn’t speak any English so it was fun to practice our Montenegrin. We have learned that they eat a lot of pasta and meat here. And seafood. Ollie and I got a “burger” that was a giant slab of meat and no bun! We enjoyed our meal and walked by the harbor before climbing back up the hill. I am loving all of the cool plants and birds. I got a treat when we got ready for bed with a good show of lightning and thunder! A great way to end a great day.Read more