Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    WSD

    July 21, 2022 in India ⋅ ☁️ 29 °C

    For a few days I have been volunteering at the Welfare for Stray Dogs.
    It is an organisation that was set up due to the inhumane killing of stray dogs by the Indian government in the 1990s. WSD and other non profit organisations protested against this. They argued that vaccinating and sterilising these dogs before rereleasing them was a more humane way to reduce the stray dog population.

    The harming of a stray dog has been outlawed since 2001 due to these organisations.

    WSD houses several dogs.
    All of which need walking, washing and most importantly some love. For dog lovers WSD is the best place to be.

    I thoroughly enjoyed my time there and hope to return here on my next visit to Mumbai.

    The dogs which I befriended were : sweetie, whisky, Reagan, cookie, sonny, fluffy, tiger,
    Read more