Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Sea kayaking

    May 7, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 16 °C

    So this morning we got up and was picked up by a sea taxi. It was a boat that was being pulled by a tractor. The tractor pulled us to a little boat launch where it launched the boat. It was really interesting seeing how well these people worked together to grt a bunch of these taxis in the water efficiently. They do this daily with big tractors because of the huge variation of water levels due to the tides. The guide said that it that day the tide would be the biggest variation of the season. Sweet as. Once on the sea taxi we drove up by some seals and got some pictures. He explained how it used to be real easy to hunt them because seals are lazy and curious so they would just sit there as people would come to them. The Americans said to keep us Canadians away from the seals so we wouldn't club them. Until that point I had forgot that they club seals in the north.

    We then docked the boat in anchorage and hiked a bit taking in the scenery before heading to the beach for some sea kayaking. I feel like by the end of the trip I'll be almost a sea kayaking expert or at the very least a semi competent paddler.

    After a couple hours of kayaking we headed back to the farm and took a well deserved shower before supper and a camp fire. Sitting by the campfire telling stories under the stars was a nice little detail that I had never really expected coming into the trip. I kept hesitating to go to bed or to stay up because I knew that I would be getting up early the next morning in the hope of falling out of a plane. I was really hoping for shitty weather in the morning so that it would be cancelled again but I would not be so lucky.
    Read more