Satellite
Show on map
  • Phone home, ET

    May 22, 2016 in Italy ⋅ 25 °C

    It was very windy over night but luckily except for the noise in the rigging very little of the gale was felt in the marina.

    Sunday was not a day of rest for me but the list of jobs was getting shorter as I continued to get to know Eureka and was able to tick more and more off the 'To Do' list.
    I even felt I was able to take a break and have lunch ashore at the same restaurant that I had dinner at last night

    The marina was busy with the arrival of many of the boat owners, down from Rome for the day. However most of them just washed down the decks and sat in the cockpits drinking and chatting.
    Very few yachts left the marina and went sailing. It seems that many of the yachts are just used as houseboats.

    In the afternoon I had a visit from the previous owner and his English speaking friend who did the translating.
    I was having problems with the shore power. Turned out there is a change over switch from the inverter that he had forgotten to tell me about. Problem solved!

    I was able to work at a slower place during the afternoon and felt happy at the end of the day that I was almost ready to receive my crew tomorrow.

    I eat my dinner in the cockpit in the cool of the evening, watching the sun go down before having a long phone conversation with Maeve.
    I reassured her that everything was going well and she reassured me that everything would go well. Then it was time for an early night.
    Read more