Satellite
Show on map
  • Getting to know Eureka

    May 21, 2016 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    I woke early and quickly realised my back was complaining about the abuse it had been subjected to the previous day. I ignored its complaints and made a start on tidying up after the mess I had left the night before and began exploring Eureka and getting to know her equipment and where everything was.

    The steering cables and rigging were adjusted and I paid a few visits to the local chandlery for bit and pieces that I needed.
    The owner's smile grew wider each time he saw me as I handed over more and more euros. He did however try to reduce the pain a little with some discounts.

    All the hatches were open and I had a wind scoop rigged to try to get a draft down below. It would have been wonderful if I didn't have to work.
    Hot as it was down below at least I had shade and I didn't stick my head above deck without being liberally coated in factor 50.

    By the time I has finished exploring Eureka, stowed all the gear and tidied up, it was 20.00 so I decided to treat myself to a shower, a beer and dinner in that order at a nice family run restaurant near the entrance to the marina.

    As I ate, I noticed families strolling along the promenade beside the marina. The height of fashion was on display and while I know nothing about Armani etc, these people certainly know how to dress up.
    Feck it! There's nothing wrong with my t-shirt, shorts and sandals.

    Today was Saturday so no work for them tomorrow as they enjoyed the last of the evening sun. But for me there was going to be no rest. While there was plenty done there was still plenty left to do.
    Read more