Satellite
Show on map
  • I become the owner of Eureka

    March 2, 2016 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    I found Eureka on the internet in October of last year before getting a bit of sense and deciding it was a mad idea to be buying a boat in Italy.

    Then Vittorio, the broker selling Eureka got back in touch in February and said she was still on the market if I was still interested.
    I thought about it for a few minutes and then decided to try to leave him down gently by saying I probably could only afford a ridiculous low amount, only to get a reply,

    "That might buy it!".

    Well, you know what came next? Yes, I had to go and see it!

    On the 2nd of March I travelled via Dublin to Rome , viewed Eureka made an offer and discovered that there was going to be a lot of paperwork involved.
    The following day having increased my offer, I was doing the tourist bit around Rome as I waited for a decision and learnt my second offer was accepted just after I had left St. Paul's.
    When I told Vittorio the broker, where I was, he said the boat was blessed.

    I had to be present for the survey so it was back to Rome via Stanstead, this time staying in Ostia, close to the marina.
    Having had a brief trip under engine, we hoisted the sails, there was no wind but I got to see them.
    We headed up the Tiber where she was lifted out at a boatyard for the survey.
    Unlike Ireland, both seller and buyer are expected to be present. A sensible idea as this helps if issues arise as they could be dealt there and then with the help of the broker and surveyor.

    On my third visit, Maeve accompanied me as she had only seen photos of Eureka and we sat in the shipping agents office in Anzio as the contracts were signed and the money left my account before I could change my mind.
    Having signed our lives away we returned to Rome to have a good look around and had a look around the Sistine Chapel before a bit of vino to celebrate our new boat.

    Now all we had to do was bring her home.
    Read more