Satelliitti
Näytä kartalla
  • Päivä 3–6

    Heathrow to Bristol

    16. toukokuuta, Englanti ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    Didn't sleep well as I'm messed up with jet lag. After breakfast, I took a cab (no tip this time!) back to Heathrow. Then I took the Express train towards Central London to Paddington Station. This magnificent train shed was designed for the Great Western Railway by Isambard Brunel to connect London to Bristol by rail. The station has 12 platforms, and it's a busy place! I arrived early to watch the people coming and going.
    I boarded the 1:30 pm train for the 1.5 hour journey to Temple Meads station, so named for the area that was the site of a round church built by the Knights Templar in the 12th century. Today, you can explore the ruins of Temple Church at the same location.
    My hotel is very close to the Old City where the original Anglo-Saxon settlement was situated and later where Bristol Castle was built in the 11th century.
    I decided to relax for the evening and will head out for sight-seeing in the morning.
    Not so Fun Fact; I'm having challenges with the Find Penguins app which has had me retype this footprint too many times.
    Lue lisää