Satellit
Vis på kort
  • Dag 4

    Bristol Day 1

    17. maj, England ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    Again, I didn't sleep well. Went to bed and slept for no more than 2 hours when I awoke at 11 pm. Was awake until 2 am, so I turned my 7 alarm off. Awoke at 8:48 and jumped out of bed!
    Took a cab to the Clifton area to see two specific sites. First, the Clifton suspension bridge, designed by Isambard Brunel, then the Clifton Observatory overlooking the Avon River gorge and the suspension bridge. The bridge is one of the engineering wonders of the world. Had some breakfast at the Observatory, then started walking east looking for a cab.
    Shortly, I found one and had him take me to St. Paul's Southville, the paris church that Charles and his wife Ann were part of in the 1891 census. The graveyard here is quite small, and many of the stones are no longer legible due to the effects of weather. Couldn't find anything with the Chiswell name.
    I walked on to St. Mary Redcliffe church, a well-preserved sacred facility built circa 1160. By then, my feet and knee were killing me, so I walked back to my hotel.
    After a much needed rest, I left my hotel to wander north on Victoria Road to visit the Temple Church. What a wonderful place this is: bombed by the Nazis in the 1940 blitz, it was damaged but considered too important not to be maintained. The tower leans 5 feet out of vertical line!
    I forced myself to continue north and crossed the infamous Bristol Bridge. At one time, hundreds of years ago, the bridge had several stories of residences along with a church built on it. I finally made it to the St. Nicholas Markey that has been in operation since the late 1700s.
    So happy to be resting again at my hotel. I think I walked over 3 miles today. There are several things I plan to see tomorrow.
    Læs mere