Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Kampala hanging about

    November 13, 1991 in Uganda ⋅ 24 °C

    Don’t think Kampala has much in store for me, but I have 2 days to kill.
    Managed to kill 2 days fairly respectably and was much impressed with Kampala and the efforts of Uganda to get their act together. The city is full of people cutting grass, digging drains, fixing buildings etc, and people do want to chat for chats sake without asking for a shilling or dollar one. Sometimes too much so. It took me a couple of hours to shake off one friend. I tried the usual tricks, dazzled him with science, boring him to death – I eventually had to revert to the old museum ploy though he did his best to thwart me by misdirecting me several times. Eventually though the museum proved too much for him.

    Kampala is brimming with birds, big ones of all descriptions, but especially maribou storks. It is apparently illegal to shoot or otherwise harm them, so Kampala’s version of Trafalgar Square is full of birds of prey, egrets and storks, not pigeons.
    Read more