Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Bergen - Day 1

    July 16, 2023 in Norway ⋅ 🌧 15 °C

    My business class air france ticket allows me expedited security passage, lounge access and baggage priority. That last item seemed lacking when i arrived in bergen but my backpack did not 😳

    Especially problematic because i was still wearing shorts and sandals from paris weather but in bergen the temperature was 14C, and very windy and very rainy. I felt like i time traveled to November. And very unfortunately, my backpack would be enjoying paris weather without me until tuesday (two days later).

    But not much i can do. Walked from the tram station to the nearby harbour. Found the open fish market and some very pretty venues but was getting pelted with rain pretty good too. No umbrella and no rain gear, so i ducked for cover into a nearby pub.

    The bartender was really sweet and after telling him my predicament he rummaged thru lost and found and gave me an umbrella and helped me find a good restaurant for dinner too.

    After wandering the quaint streets and a quick nap, went for a traditional nordic dinner and some surprisingly excellent craft beers. Met the lovely Alejandra from mexico there and chatted away with her for quite a while. Eventually parted ways and i bounced around the harbour bars a bit until i found a cool cave bar and befriended a group of Norwegians and travellers who now live in bergen full time too. And eventually back to the hotel. Crappy start to the day but excellent finish
    Read more