Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Tromsø - day 1

    July 18, 2023 in Norway ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    I arrived at the airport and talked to the baggage guy there. My backpack is in apparently in bergen. Geez i hope my backpack enjoys bergen as much i did. We are on separate vacations. I literally washed my clothes in the shower with a bar of soap and dried them with a hair dryer out of desperation tedious!

    My pre booked tours all got canceled for various reasons so my trip here is a bit muted. I am 400km above the arctic circle with much less purpose and a lot of time to relax. But still in shorts haha. The mountains here are all snow capped and its pretty cold.

    I found a local brewery on the same street as my hotel and of course popped in there. I was used to paying an ungodly rate of $17 per beer here in norway so didn't even think to ask how much. My visa card registered $32 for one beer at this brewery! Geezus. I'm not easily shocked but i could have used some support at this moment.

    Left the brewery and randomly into a restaurant i found on the way. Was hanging out with the bartender when the manager came downstairs and went on a crazy rant. I made a joke about hoping to never get on her bad side. And before i knew it i was invited to join her friends in the lounge upstairs.

    So i went to that lounge and chatted with everyone - very warm and nice people. There's some stories to be told here but i will leave that out of this blog. Lets just say northern norway is a bit nuts. I did my best to watch and be supportive of everyone. Yikes!

    One of the guys (zack) invited me to go to a nearby pool hall so i happily left the drama and showed those guys how its done haha. Never lost a game. I can usually hold my own and more at pool.

    From there, me and michael from poland plus 2 new Norwegian friends found another cool wine bar to hang out in. I met a french guy who looks remarkably like Christian Bale. You decide :) will attach to the photos. And thats my day.
    Read more