Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Helsinki - day 1

    July 20, 2023 in Finland ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    I was super nervous about giving the airline my backpack but was one of the first ones off the carousel. Yay!

    I took the train frim the airport and fortunately my hotel was close to the helsinki train station. Scrambled to check-in and then get to a quiet pub to video conference a lawyer back in canada to finalize the sale of an investment property. Yay no longer a landlord!!

    Then had just enough time to shower and get to a couchsurfing meetup. I was feeling pretty nervous about it but had an amazing time. Its basically an event for travellers to connect but there was tons of finns there too.

    Had a hilarious back and forth with a girl who insisted she would destroy me at pool (she didn't) and lovely rose from norway handed me a microphone to sing a duet karaoke song already in progess which i am quite sure i butchered. Followed the remaining crowd to a gay club haha and danced the night away. Crazy fun. Huge shout outs to ollie and teemu. Jay from texas/Korea to the next day... to be continued ....
    Read more