Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Ubirr Rock Art

    May 11, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    Native rock art, some dating to as much as 5,000 years ago, is one of the reasons for Kakadu's UNESCO status. I'm told there are many such sites in the park with some of the best preserved rock art in the world, but most are sites sacred to the aboriginals. So they are off limits to the rest of us.
    The rock art is stunning and worthy of it's reputation as a big reason in itself to visit the park. I took dozens of pictures. I've chosen to post here a combination of pictures of just the art together with pictures of art plus interpretive signs. I realized early on that I couldn't do an adequate job of interpretation. So I chose this approach, hoping you find it helpful. For us lovers of trying to learn about and understand other cultures and their history, this site is extraordinary for it records the early aboriginals' interaction with their environment.
    Read more