Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Calzadilla to Mansilla de las Mulas - th

    June 14, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 9 °C

    As far as I could see there were only the six pilgrims at our Albergue Via Trajana walking the Via Romana today. And of them I only saw two, Stephanie the digital nomad originally from Germany and Dominic from France. Rachel and I had the road to ourselves - silent apart from birdsong.
    The road was not nearly as difficult as we had been led to believe. When we were walking on a Roman road earlier in the Camino it was made up of very large cobble stones but this was much smoother - I think better preserved as the top layer of smaller pebbles was mainly still there and in parts there was also a sandy layer making it smoother and softer on the feet.
    So it was another pretty long walk and, of course, very straight, but beautiful, deserted and quiet.
    We have had an amazing day of weather - no rain or thunderstorms for almost the first time on the Camino. The rain usually starts just after we arrive at our destination of the day but it is a pity that often we can’t sit out in the evenings. Today was different and it is still warm and sunny now.
    After arriving in Mansilla de las Mulas, Rachel and I found coffee and waited for the others to arrive. Sadly no iced coffee which was what I really needed - the caffeine but cold! But so good to sit down. Rachel was developing blisters and I was really tired.
    Unfortunately when the others arrived they had to get on the bus to Leon straight away as there wasn’t another one until 4 so I didn’t get to see them before they left.
    We found out today that Caroline has had a stomach upset - I felt terrible that I wasn’t with her and I’m amazed that she managed to walk after being sick all night. She was well looked after by Nick and Paul tho.
    So then I was on my own. I found some more cherries (the Spanish cherries are amazing - I’ve been buying them almost every day) and went to check in at my Albergue.
    Then went to find the swimming spot I had been promised. It was amazing. My first wild swim on the Camino and worth the wait. There was even a little beach to sit on.
    I really love Mansilla - it seems to be a friendly laid back town - and I’m pleased I chose to stay here rather than moving on to the city.
    Didn’t go out to eat tonight as thought it might be a bit weird on my own but I guess if I was lucky enough to be able to do this again I wouldn’t be guaranteed a companion so would have to get used to that!!
    Planning an early night - once I’ve found an audiobook for the walk along the road into Leon tomorrow.
    Read more