Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Chiang Mai - Songkran

    April 13, 2023 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 37 °C

    Songkran Festival OMG honestly some of the most fun I've had on this whole trip so far.

    Songkran is the new year celebration based on the Buddhist solar calendar, and over time the main aspect has become using water to wash away sorrows and bad thoughts for the next year (cleansing ritual basically). The elderly and more religious Thai will look you in the eyes and smile, pour a small cup of water on your shoulder and wish you a happy new year. Meanwhile, the younger generations are driving around in the back of trucks with super soakers and buckets and they are RUTHLESS. And the store owners with water hoses declare all out war with the motorcyclists.

    I joined in on the fun and bought my own bucket. I was confused why there was a plastic string attached to it... soon found out its so I can throw it into the river for a refill 😂

    I'm not going to lie it gets kind of annoying after 3 days, not being able to go outside without getting soaked. But it was all good fun 🥰
    Read more