Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Day 23 - Steak Night

    August 26, 2020 in Croatia ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    After a coffee & watch the Parisian lady drive off without hitting our car, I went for a half hour run around Stari Grad waterfront. I was kicking myself that I didn’t take my camera because the harbour looked so beautiful. It was also incredible to see so many old people having an early morning swim along the shoreline.

    Upon my return, I showered then Jackie made us a gorgeous croque monsieur each. We then packed up our beach kit, now including a cooler bag with half a bladder of white wine. We were just about to leave, when last nights fear of repercussions came violently true!

    10 minutes later than scheduled, we drove to Dubovica Beach car park & walked down the goat path to our idyllic spot. My stomach was still gurgling, so I checked out the toilet at the bar, only to discover that they wanted payment of 5 kuna (about 65 pence) for the privilege. Bloody cheek.

    We sat in the sun the whole day & had our lunch of cool white wine & bacon crisps. We did play bat and ball - embarrassingly badly. Sometime after 5.00pm, we headed home.

    Arriving back at our apartment, Jackie was feeling ‘exhausted’ so went for a lie down, whilst I walked down to the harbour to buy a lilo. I found a lilo at what I thought was a bargain price & bought it along with another box of wine & a tomato.

    Walking back I was feeling all pleased with myself, until I realised that the lilo had cost 6 times more than I had originally thought. Idiot.

    Jackie later fried our massive steaks & served them up with Dijon mustard, a balsamic & olive oil dressing and salad. The meat was very tasty, but a bit on the chewy side. Apparently Jackie couldn’t get the electric ring hot enough to flash fry them!

    The evening was completed with an old online quiz hosted by the very annoying Jay.

    Song of the Day - Waterfront by Simple Minds.
    Read more