Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Galleria dell’Academia [David]

    May 26, 2022 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 90 °F

    When I booked the ticket for 17:00 I made the American mistake of translating that in my head as 6:00 rather than 5:00 - which I realized around 5:30 while on the other side of town. I looked it up and the last entry was at 5:45 - I damn near ran all the way there and got in the doors at 5:43 and they were nice enough to still let me in. Close call! The museum was pretty small other than David and since I barely had time I basically just looked at the statue. It’s really amazing in person, I didn’t realize how huge it was, and the detail is just incredible. It’s so unreal how these sculptors were able to make texture and tiny details with a hammer and chisel. It was tough to get good pictures - the statue is huge and several feet off the ground so there isn’t a good angle. But at least I have proof I saw him! Pretty wild to think this is the worlds most famous statue.Read more