Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Day in Gijon

    June 5, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 64 °F

    Lucas, his uncle (mom’s side, not Caputto) and his friend who are visiting Oviedo, and I took a quick bus ride to Gijon, which is a city on the water and the largest in the province of Asturias. It was a cool place, very similar to Oviedo except with views of the sea and some beaches. I love how you can get to another city so easily and quickly here - it’s a thirty minute bus ride that costs like 2.50. We had some good food and walked around town for a while and now we are all exhausted. There is definitely much less to see around this part of Spain but that is Ok because I am spending all of my mental capacity trying to keep up with the Spanish. It has been going surprisingly well - I’m able to communicate without a problem and was fine keeping up with these three argentines today. We had a lot of pretty complicated conversations - Lucas’s uncle is an economist and spent a while explaining Peronism to me. This is a very different leg of the trip from sightseeing in Rome or Barcelona but I like it a lot because I feel like I am learning more about the actual culture; Lucas knows a ton about it and also has Spanish friends that I am meeting.Read more