Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Day at the Riverbank

    June 7, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 73 °F

    Yesterday was another chill day in Oviedo. I went with Lucas and some of his friends from the rugby team to a river bank to hang out and swim. It was super beautiful out there, we basically were out in the mountains and it was only like a 30 minute drive. This group was a bit harder for me to hang out with because they are mostly from Oviedo or other parts of Asturias and their accent is just beyond difficult. Even Lucas says he has a hard time understanding them. For example one of them explained to me they have an expression: “es lo que hay” but they pronounce it like “yeh que hay” - I was like how the hell do you pronounce “Es lo” as “yeh”? So confusing. Fortunately there were a couple argentines who were far easier to understand as well as a guy from New Zealand who obviously spoke English. While there some bulls came up to us and I thought for a second we were going to get attacked because one of them did seem pretty pissed off. Fortunately he just walked away after we threw some bread to him. After that we just headed back, Lucas has a lot to do in terms of packing so I headed to the town park to hang out and read. It’s crazy how Spain is essentially in its own time zone - I came home from the park to get dinner with Lucas at 10 and the sun was still out.Read more