Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Holy trinity church

    May 14, 2023 in Georgia ⋅ 🌬 16 °C

    Today I managed to sleep in until 830!!! Which is huge because it meant I only had to wait 1.5 hours until I could have breakfast (10am in georgia is like 6am in Perth, everything opens late but then stays open until at least 11pm). I went for a cheesy bread bowl for breakfast, which had an egg on it this time! They seemed very unprepared when I got there and they were going around setting up all the tables while I ate, I think they thought it was really weird I was there at 1130 ahaha. Called mum and dad for mothers day and then decided I'd visit the main cathedral in tbilisi. Its called the holy trinity cathedral and its the 3rd tallest orthodox cathedral in the world, I learned today that georgia was one of the first places the disciples went after jesus died so there've been Christians here since the 1st century (this cathedral only started getting built in 1995 tho). The church area and gardens were immaculate but I forgot to charge my phone before I went so couldnt take many photos (the one of inside the church is from Google ahaha). Inside the church there were a bunch of old looking paintings and golden carved tablets, it felt strange being in a building that had such a high roof. I nice lady showed me around some lower levels of the church which were a lot less busy. There was a male choir singing religious chants somewhere down there and it's was echoing really loudly all through the areas we walked through, it was honestly pretty eerie but I toughed it out because I didn't want to bail on the lady. At the end she said she needed money "for the orphans", I only partly believed her but she was nice so I gave her 10 lari anyway :)). Went home and had a pear salad from across the road for dinner.Read more