Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 254

    Things ive seen on my morning walks

    January 16 in Hungary ⋅ ⛅ 4 °C

    Spencer wakes up so late and I get pretty bored waiting for him so I've been doing a fair bit of solo exploring this week. Apart from all the awesome buildings, castles and cathedrals that are everywhere, a few notable places I've been are the central market hall and the heroes square. I couldnt buy anything at the market because I only had my card but it was still nice to have a look around. The place was packed and it was mostly people just selling groceries The building had 3 levels but the underground floor was pretty inhospitable, all the stores selling fish and pickles are down there and the airflow isn't great so it reeked! I don't know why but pretty much the only thing I remember about budapest from music tour was the heroes square, I went to check it out the other morning and it's exactly how I remembered it (not in an impressive way it's just a bunch of statues, i just found it strange how accurately I remembered it). Right next to the square is a huge open air ice skating rink which I'm so keen to go to sometime soon. There's also a super cool museum building that goes underground in the middle and has slanted gardens that you can walk up on either end. Earlier in the week we made a journey deep into the suburbs to pick up a second hand laptop for spencer. It felt very familiar out there and it reminded me of Northam, we were surprisingly at ease which was a bit weird considering we had no idea where we were or if it was a bad area or not. Even if it was a bad area I doubt anyone would've tried to mess with me because, as you can see from the selfie, I have a mullet now!! I did it to myself but you'd never know ahahaha.Read more