Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 296

    Tram 28 pt1

    February 27 in Portugal ⋅ 🌬 13 °C

    I'm almost out of schengen days so this week I'm traveling how people normally do and going to a bunch of places really quickly, starting with lisbon. Im only here for two days so landed and got straight into it. There's a really popular tram here (no. 28) that goes through all the major tourist areas of lisbon, the route is about 7 kms long so I decided I'd follow it on foot so I could see everything but also stop and check stuff out if I wanted. Right at the start of the route I found a bakery and stopped for breakfast. I got a Portuguese custard tart and a weird lemon custard jelly cake thing which were both super tasty. Once I started walking, the first thing caught my attention was that a bunch of the buildings here are decorated with floor tiles, like from top to bottom completely covered. I don't think I've ever seen that before and thought it was super awesome. I think the thing that makes tile buildings so cool is that each tile has an intricate pattern on it but when so many of them are layed out like that over an entire house they merge a bit in your brain creating this weird texture that changes as you get closer. The tile  houses are also way smoother and shinier than normal houses which is pretty cool. It only took about 20 minutes of exploring for me to realise that lisbon might be the most interesting looking city I've ever seen. I mustve taken about 1000 photos and they were all just aesthetic pics of random streets and buildings. There were a bunch of times where I would resist taking a picture because it was getting a bit ridiculous but then I would walk 50metres, feel really guilty, and then run back to get a quick snap because the street was just too artsy and photogenic to ignore. After threading my way through a few kms of urban awesomeness I eventually reached the commerce square which is right on the foreshore. The square itself was pretty standard but the buskers there were so dope, there was a guy in a pikachu mask singing a dumb song with his guitar, two dudes making a huge detailed crocodile sandcastle, and another dude painting on rocks and then piling them up to make sculptures. It was so refreshing to see such creative busking so I gave them all money. The commerce square is about halfway along the tram route but up until this point it'd all been downhill, the rest of the way went back up which ended up being pretty exhausting. The highlight of the second half was a quirky little yellow funicular, i thought it was pretty neat (only found out about it when I was already up the hill tho ://). Once I reached the end of the route I was almost in line with the golden gate bridge which was pretty enticing because the Christ the redeemer statue was just on the other side. I spent a fair while indecisively wondering towards the bridge and then going back before coming to the conclusion that my legs were sore and I could actually see the statue just fine where I was. All that aimless roaming had landed me in a pretty random area which is where I had lunch. I got a soupy seafood rice bowl and absolutely loved it! Right now I've just arrived at the hostel, I'm pretty knackered so might just go for a quick look around tonight before crashing.

    Sidenote: On the way to the krakow airport this morning I finally got let off of a bus fine!!!
    Read more