Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    P2D3 to Azinhaga 40/198 km

    August 3, 2018 in Portugal ⋅ ⛅ 35 °C

    I slept well (despite the barking dogs). After small breakfast I've got my stamp, paid for the night (20+5e) and set off for Santarém - again 15km through tomato fields as well as some vineyards. In Santarém in a tourist office I've booked a room (or bed) in the next possible accommodation Casa da Azzancha in Azinhaga. So another 26km in the heat. I hope there will be some bars on the way, otherwise I don't know how can I survive it.
    With the last rests of my strength I reach a cafe in Vale de Figueira (26km) and have some beer, coke and water. Still 14 km to go, maybe less, if I find some shortcuts.
    The heat was like in hell. The shortcut weren't there, I've tried one and ended in a corn field, there were no place to make a break, the only freshening was once from the land improvement pipes.
    After some beer, water and coke in Pombalinho I managed the last 2.5 km and arrived eventually in Casa da Azzancha (45e - single room).
    Read more