Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    P2D4 through the hell to Tomar 25/223

    August 4, 2018 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 38 °C

    I couldn't sleep because of the heat, barking dogs, muscle pain and blisters. Took some painkillers but it didn't seem to help much. Eventually I felt asleep and slept well, waking up at 645 - same like yesterday.
    The way leads on paved roads = bad for my blisters but at least not much traffic.
    First beer after 17 km in Pedregoso. Tuna-tomato-onion salad 2km later. I thought I can manage the next 7km to the next bar and then wait there until the heat cease. The path was nice through eucalyptus trees, but the heat become unbearable.I couldn't walk anymore, so I lied down on the ground to get some rest, but it wasn't much better - it was hot even in the shadows of the trees and the light breeze was hot as well. I tried to walk again, but after 500m I had to stop again, so I decided to wait until everything, then walk to the next village and take a taxi to Tomar.
    But after maybe 1 hour I've realised that if I stay here any longer I will spend all my water, so I forced myself to get up and walk very slowly. After 1 km there was a farm in the forest. Two man were just starting a car, going to the next village. I asked then for water and the for the ride. They took me, and as they saw my exhaustion, they drove me all the way to my hotel in Tomar. Thank you !!
    So I've skipped about 12 km of unpleasant walk along a main street. I've got a nice room in Residencial Uniāo (35e). After some recovery I went out to have dinner (soup, salad, beer). I slept like a log.
    Read more