Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,245

    The last supper

    January 20, 2022 in Singapore ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    As I wander to the laundrette this morning I pass shop fronts with all there fresh deliveries outside. No-one will take them here, the trust and ability to leave things without them "magically" growing legs is one of the most endearing things I've found about Singapore. Of all the countries I've travelled this is the one I could honestly live in. Obviously you pay a cost of living for that but it's actually the things that I love about here are things that don't cost money. The respect for rules and each other is what actually brings this harmony. The streets are kept immaculate by guys who sweep with old fashion brooms, not collecting rubbish but the leaves and gardens. There are no masks or rubbish dropped in the street like at home.
    I also haven't seen any homeless people here although im sure it exists, the closest you get to a beggar are the people who sell tissues. These are an important part in Singapore because when you visit the Hawker centres they are the way of saving a seat while you go and get your food known locally as copeing. The hawker centres weren't always in established places they started sprawled along the streets until 1968 when the government took the issue on and licenced the hawkers putting them in constructed pavilions with running water and electricity in areas around the city. This also increased hygiene. There are over 100 hawker centres housing more than 6000 food stalls and are without doubt one of the Country's national treasures.
    This is my last full day and I want the opportunity to say goodbye to the people that have made it special. I start at the upstairs bar and am shocked when they present me with a leaving present and the most beautiful card with words that bring tears to my eyes and after my usual g and ts refuse to let me pay. Finally I head for the last supper with the 3 amigos. We all meet at Somerset and enjoy a fabulous Mexican but with it being a school night finish up early ish before I head back to spend my final night in the cube. Singapore you've been amazing and the people even more so. As I always say it's not goodbye its till we meet again xx
    Read more