Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,284

    Hua Hin

    February 28, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    My plan is for the beach today, but when I make my way to the local one its not that great. I met a guy called Damon last night and we've arranged to meet up this morning. He tells me the beach by his hotel is beautiful so a short tuc tuc ride brings us onto Khao Takiab beach. It's not the most beautiful beach but it's long and there's quite a large surf here. Hua hin seems the place where a lot of Thai people from Bangkok come as its only a few hours drive from Bangkok so is the perfect place for a little break by the sea. Throughout the day I ait and watch the Thais being given surfing lessons and I'm shocked at how good they are. I smashed one my big toe on a raised paving stone about a week ago and while I'm sat in a deckchair on the beach an older lady comes along and offers to sort it out. I can't believe I'm sat on a beach having my nails painted, but she does a grand job and you can't even see where the nails come off. I jump the little local bus back, it's basically a tuc tuc that anyone can get on and off along the way and costs 15baht compared to 200 baht if we'd taken one privately. We agree to meet for dinner and in the afternoon I go for a massage and once again feel like I've been beaten up. My shoulder is so painful but I think it's more to do with my injury than her technique. Damon and I order Thai in the evening and its that spicy I can hardly eat it but I've tried a few new dishes now and really liked the spicy beef salad. Murphys bar is closed today and next door is a place called Buckleys the girl in there is so lovely and very good at pool so when Damon suggests he's good I decide to take him here. As we're sat down a young girl comes round with flowers and even though we say no Damon says she's worth more than a 50 baht flower the young girl says ok 100 baht . She is so sharp he concedes and I end up going home with a rose.Read more