Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,304

    Time to say goodbye

    March 20, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    I wake at 7 and there is a misty damp fog surrounding the whole area. Coffee is already on the boil and it's Coffee Mr Chart has grown himself. It is definitely the best coffee I've had here and is delicious. Mr Charts wife asks if i want to take a walk with her and shows me around our lovely village. are heading back to Pai today and Mr Chart is kindly going to drive us to the National Park Entrance where Golf had agreed to pick us up from, but they were out partying with my friends last night and has messaged me in the early hours that he's unable to do this but can arrange for someone else to pick us up for a fee. When j calls he wants to charge us 1500 bhat for a 45 min journey but Mr Chart comes to the rescue and offers to take us there just for the fuel money. The journey through the National Park is only 30km but the road is treacherous after the rains we've had so he arranges to bring bamboo(his son) and his 2 friends and his wife koy in case we need to chop any trees down. As we leave the home the two dogs follow us running as fast as the truck until they can keep up no more. well all I can say about the journey is wow wtf we climb dirt tracks cross rivers and scale up and down the most amazing scenery with my heart in my mouth winding around these tracks that are controlled by the amount of rain that has fallen. The road is slowly being concreted but we get to one point and we literally have to get out and build a track so we can pass. Eventually we arrive back in Pai and as we bid our farewells to Mr Chart outside the 7/11 I'm sad to say goodbye. I can't praise this man enough he is truly a hero in my eyes. After a walk down walking street greeting people along the way I check back in to Villa de Pai and take myself for a leg massage. Even with the lack of language the girls in the massage parlour are shocked and laughing at the fact I've been to the jungle and eaten frog, and tell me its more expensive than beef or pork here. In the evening I head out to walking street which is really quiet due to most of the youngsters being In koh phagnan for the full moon party but to be honest it's quite nice. I spend most of the evening at Phatos tiny bar and after a little wander come back as its the busiest bar in town. We finish off with a couple of games of pool In Humble when we've finished and I don't even remember walking home.Read more