Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,327

    Preparing to leave Thailand

    April 12, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    After a wonderful night's sleep I wake up early as I have a few things to do today. I've got the names of 2 hospitals and plan to walk to them to see if I can get my pcr test done. When I go down to reception I have the bright idea of asking the lady on reception if she can call them and see if they offer the pcr service. I sit in reception with a lovely coffee She's so helpful and comes back to me to say the nearest hospital offers it at the cost of 4100 baht about 90 pounds and I can just get a walk in service so off I trot to the hospital. When I arrive I have to fill in a form, they take my passport and I find I'll get the results later today. No buses are crossing the border here so I would need to get a taxi to the Thai border then a motorbike to the Malaysian border then wait for a bus to take me to Kuala Lumpur. I've had this experience before and because you have no other options they can charge what they like . I'm shocked that when I go online I can book a flight for 40 pounds. I take the chance and even though I'm trying to do my trip without the need for flights to minimise my carbon footprint this time I make an exception. By the time I've booked my flight I'm called for my swab. I make my way back to my hotel and collect my washing as there is a laundrette just across the road , a few of my clothes have marks from suncream and I put them on a hot wash. I drop into the 7/11 !and buy some snacks as I'm going to have the rest of the day watching telly and enjoying my room. When I get back to reception my room isn't available so I pack up and move and enjoy the evening watching movies and having a pamper session with face masks and creams.Read more