Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,328

    New day new country

    April 13, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    An early start this morning as I'm flying to Malaysia and before I leave for the airport I need to go back to the clinic to pick up my Pcr test result. When I arrive I try to converse but the lady thinks I need to get a test today, luckily the lady who did my test recognises me. It would be hard not too as I haven't seen any other foreigners in the time I've been here. Certificate in hand its back to the hotel to grab my bag and a taxi. I arrive at the airport and go to check-in. I'm a little worried as I've had to download an app for Malaysia and some of my documents I've been unable to load. It takes forever and they aren't happy with one of my documents and I wait for a supervisor to arrive . Eventually after 40 minutes I get my boarding card. Just when I think I'm out of the woods I hit immigration who persist in telling me I've overstayed my visa. Honestly I knew this wasn't going to be easy and it's my bad for not speaking the language but I'm sure I've not overstayed. I point to my passport so I can show them my extension, but they are pointing to the computer and saying no. Eventually the colonel shows up and after a lot of talking I'm stamped out of Thailand. The transition through Malaysia is a lot easier than I think and the only issue i have is the fact that they don't recognise my new non EU passport. Once through I eventually meet Jon we're looking for each other and don't realise we're in 2 different terminals, we jump the train and arrive at the Grand Hyatt. Omg I've gone to heaven its a 5 star hotel I've never seen anything like it in my life and its got a bath. I lounge in there for an hour before getting ready. The reception is actually on the 39th floor and you have to get a lift to the top to go down to your room but the views are amazing.I need to get a sim card sorted and for over an hour i walk around a shopping centre that is massive with 9 floors its las big as a town. Eventually after going up and down we find the phone shops and within minutes get it sorted. We take a walk down walking street and I enjoy my first kebab and love it. We then enjoy a few cocktails in a wonderful bar called pisco before walking round in circles before eventually finding the hotel.Read more