Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,338

    Leaving Melaka

    April 23, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ 🌧 30 °C

    I get up early to pack and spend a few hours with Sam Jason and James before leaving town. I never expected to stay so long but so glad I did. Last night was epic and for the second day in a row didn't drink. Sam has kindly offered to take me to the station and as I come down I'm met by the hostel owner Francis. He chats to me and explains he's got a gift of a book for me. It's about the history of his Chinese culture and I'm so grateful it seems hard to say no even though its massive and won't fit In my rucksack. I leave my bag in reception and head to Limau Limau for my final coffee. Its busy in there today so just before I leave I make my way to see the baba and Nyonya heritage museum. The house dates back to 1861 and owned by a Perankan family. Children who were born to Chinese and Indian settlers with women from Malaysia and Perankan meaning local born. Baba is an honorific for men and Nyonya for women. The house is filled with Chinese blackwood furniture inlaid with mother of pearl and it contains a staircase that is under carved and gold gilded but contains no nails as they believe that they should only be used when your put in your coffin. It also has flaps on the top which were to prevent burglars but also stopping the men from coming upstairs when drunk. In the centre of the house are open areas with drainage and these were used so when it rained it cooled the house. Upstairs is a marital bedroom and a young male of the family with the same zodiac sign would be brought here on the marital night to roll in the bed to bring the couple good fertility. I wander around a little more then head back to tge cafe to say goodbye. Jason takes me to my hostel where Francus has left me the loveliest note along with the book and a keyring as a keepsake. As Jason drops me to the station I grab a quick drink before boarding the bus which I'm pleasantly surprised has a massage seat and recliner all for £2.Read more