Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,379

    Mount Kinabalu

    June 3, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    I wake at 545 to catch a taxi to the bus station but decide with being so early I can check out the terminal bus bandaran which is where the minivans used to leave pre covid. Its really difficult even googling things because it will come up with information that is generally outdated and totally inaccurate. I arrive there after a 10 minute walk only to find a couple of random minivans that aren't going in the right direction. So I book a grab and make my way to the bigger bus terminal. I buy my ticket and as im in the station briefly bump into the girls from Cheshire I met at the airport before boarding the bus to the National Park. The bus station is a little crazy but eventually I get my ticket and make my way to board the bus. The journey takes just over 2 hrs and I'm dumped literally at the side of the road. I walk up to the main reception and having done a little research before getting here I've chosen to do the Liwagu trail. I walk to the start point but when I start to descend it's very clear the path hasn't been well trodden and I'm concerned the further I get in the worse it will be and with trekking solo I decide to take a more trodden route. I opt for the Sigau Sigau trail and although a little wet under foot takes an hour and 20 minutes. As I sit at the shelter I can hear people speaking English and from a different trail I see 2 young guys. I ask where there from and they tell me America but Carl lives in Sabah and Bryce lives in Singapore They are heading up to the gate and I ask if I can join them. The first stop is kiau gap view where there is literally no view apart from clouds. There is also a memorial here for the 4 guides and 14 climbers who died on June 5th 2015 in the earthquake here. We venture further up power station road to Timpohon gate which is the starting point for the ascent to the summit of Mount kinabalu. At the viewpoint there is still no visibility but there are these cute little squirrels. The walk down is a lot easier and when we reach the bottom we make our way to the restaurant. I enjoy the battered prawns and chocolate milkshake. I have the dilemma now of getting home. Apparently I need to stand at the side of the roadside and catch a bus by flagging one down as it passes. There is no set time so i literally will need to stand at the side of the road. Just as were about to leave I spot a couple of European people and walk over and ask if they are going back to Kk they say yes so I ask if I can share they're taxi. As it goes they've got a minibus as they've climbed to the summit as an arranged tour. A few minutes later the guy comes back to me and tells me his driver has said its OK. When the driver arrives he asks if I'm the person getting the lift and when I ask how much he says its free. I can't have this so give him 30rm (£6) and he's overjoyed. The journey home takes 2 1/2hours and when I get back I'm exhausted but to my delight Michael and Ronaldo invite me to join them for dinner of sardines and octopus. After dinner as we're sat in the hostel we hear the biggest bang and when we go out to see what has gone there are lots of people looking and when we realise a container truck has hit the walkway bridge that runs over the main road its amazing that no-one has been hurt and the bridge is still I one piece. I have a couple of drinks with the boys in the hostel before heading to bed exhausted.Read more