Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,380

    SUP sunset

    June 4, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    So after a full day at the beach we've arranged to meet Ronaldo for Stand up paddle boarding. I'm exhausted before I've even started. We're meeting at Tanjung Rhu beach and arrive at 430. The place is only 20 minutes from the ferry port and after loading the boards into a trolley we wheel them down the beach. Dd gives us a quick briefing of how to get on the board and how to paddle before we each grab our own boards and walk to the waters edge. Dark clouds have started to come across the bay and its funny because Michael and I had a bet that if it rained before 5pm he bought the dinner and if it didn't I paid. Its 4.55 and I'm out of luck and Michael does a little jig as we cross the road. 3 local girls are joining us and we paddle out to a little sandbank. Its quite crazy as we leave the shore the water is quite deep but as we approach the sandbank all the surrounding water is ankle deep. We spend a little time on the sandbank and I'm once again blessed with the most beautiful sunset and a rainbow thrown in the mix as well. We paddle out a little further to get the obligatory photos before making our way back to shore. On the way back i have a little wobble and as much as I try to regain composure I fall off in the deepest water. I'm exhausted and trying to get back on my paddle board with a life jacket on proves almost impossible but after numerous attempts I eventually manage to cock a leg up and clamber back on. I eventually reach shore and carry my board back to the trolley. We make our way back but the gate where my rucksack with my towel etc is locked in so have to wait for the boys to get back with all the boards. A quick shower and it's back to the hostel. I'm delighted when I receive a message off Henry (the original boys I met in Phuket back at the beginning of my trip) and after a quick shower head out to meet them for a couple of beers. Its so good catching up with him and Toby although I do miss the fact of not seeing James. We catch up on all the adventures we've had since last seeing each other in April before bidding our farewells as I have an early bus to catch.Read more