Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,380

    Snorkeling

    June 4, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    I wake early as today Michael and I are heading out to one of the islands just of Kota kinabalu. I amazed at the beauty that Malaysia can bring you from Rainforest to beautiful beaches within 30 minutes. We walk to Jesselton Jetty where within minutes of buying a ticket £35 £7 we are boarding a speedboat to Manukan island. Michael's kindly lent me one of his snorkeling kits so there's no need to hire one and when we arrive a 20rm £4 visitors tax is charged. We find a shaded spot on the quieter side of the beach before heading into the water to do some snorkeling. The water is the clearest I've seen in Malaysia so far and there's lots of different fish although they are all like a transparent colour even in they're different shapes and sizes. After 45 minutes in the water I feel like I've been stung on my back and after getting out there's commotion in the water with people shouting Jellyfish. A guy in a rescue canoe comes paddling along trying to catch it but to no avail. After 10 minutes everyone returns to the water but Michael suggests we should wait a while to see if they come out again and when they don't we go for another snorkel. We cross to the other side of the beach to grab lunch and then head into the water here as its much quieter now. There are optional of doing 1,2,3or 4 islands so people are leaving and arriving all through the day. Once again we have a snorkel and as my go pro is broken I've bought one of the little plastic bags to put my phone in but what I don't realise is the whole time I'm filming the camera has turned around and I'm filming myself rather than the fish. Even still I love it. At 3pm we board the boat back to kk and grab a coffee at the ferry side restaurant where its full of young footballers . There is a 5 aside pitch inside and and after watching for 10 mins book a grab to our next adventure........Read more