Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,416

    Back to kl

    July 10, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ☁️ 26 °C

    I wake this morning and today is Hari Raya which is one of the 2 Islamic festivals they have each year. Family come together and spend the weekend. After morning prayer they have the slaughter where they offer either a sheep or cow and the animal is split into 12 portions and distributed to needy families in the neighborhood.Officially, the date is declared in Malaysia by the moon-sighting committee on the first day of Dhul-hijja, for only then can the exact date of the holiday be determined, owing to its being on a lunar-based calendar. I spend the early part of the day in the hotel and head for lunch which is amazing. With it being the holidays the have a banquet on an there is literally food from all over the world from multiple pasta to biryani lasagna and any fruit and cake topped of with a chocolate fountain. I eat more than I usually would and need an hour's shuteye when I'm finished. J messages me to say he's home so I jump a grab up there and after a quick catch up head down to the local area for food and a few beers. We go to our regular food court and order an array of food but pretty much finished off everything and even enjoy an ice cream on the way to the bar. We share a few beers and a few games of pool and later in the evening Dinesh joins us. I'm gutted not to have had more time with him but he's heading out to Penang tomorrow so has stuff he needs to do. We all enjoy catching up and leave at 1am but when the bill comes I wish myself back to Langkawi prices.Read more