Satellite
Mostra sulla mappa
  • Giorno 2.415

    Leaving Langkawi

    9 luglio 2022, Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    So this morning once again I say goodbye to some wonderful friends I've met here. Lucky being one of the loveliest soles I've met since traveling. It's so difficult saying goodbye because it's not like a friend at home or some like minded travellers from Europe where there is a good chance you'll see them again if you really want to. This is goodbye goodbye. My time on this island has been so special and something I will remember all my life. Bobby comes to see me off and I say goodbye to Addy and thank him for my stay. I arrive to the ferry well in time and thankful it's on time arrive in Kuala Kedah after 2 hrs. Azman has offered to pick me up from the station but don't feel comfortable for 40 minutes with my rucksack on the back of the bike I arrange to meet him in Alor Setar for something to eat before I board the train. We drop my bag at the station and after a very quick tour of the city he drives me for lunch. I have sizzling noodles for the first time and really enjoy them, how come I'm only just trying these as I leave Malaysia. He drops me back to the station in plenty of time and I board my electric train to kl. The station funnily enough reminds me of South parkway my station back home. The train journey is wonderful transiting through beautiful scenery although sitting in one spot on a full train is hard work on my knees. I arrive just after 715 As I come to get off my rucksack is missing but someone has taken it out of the baggage compartment and just thrown it by the door. I'm fuming and as I leave the station I book a grab but the app is telling me to go to the lobby of the Hilton I wander through and the security guard tells me to go to level 3 after 5 minutes wandering around aimlessly and trying to find the lobby. I end up going back to the security guard who speaks to the grab driver who comes round to the other side and picks me up. I meet Dinesh at the Eastin and after dropping my bag at reception we go to the carpark and head to one of the oldest bars in Kl called Backyard they have a live band on and they're really good and the added bonus of 2 pool tables that are the best table I've played on in Malaysia. We enjoy a few beers and then make our way to another bar which is more biker/rock. When were in here there are 2 guys one with really long hair head banging. Then another Malaysian guy comes in and pushes the head Banger into the drummer. He then continues to lift tables and pick up chairs. I think he thinks he's in some kind of grunge pit. The staff are getting more annoyed. I head over and speak to him and ask him nicely to stop. It seems to do the trick and is far better than the bar staff getting in a brawl. As I return to my seat I greeted with a free drink of whisky. As much as I'd like to stay I'm exhausted and head home.Leggi altro