Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,461

    Slowly slowly

    August 24, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ 🌧 28 °C

    So for the first time in a while I manage to get both flip flops on it's been nion impossible for the past few days I trundle my way to the restaurant and feel really exhausted today I've got muscles that I didn't know I had. When I arrive at the restaurant Dion has been bitten by a caterpillar on his left foot and he's sick. We joke about how we'll never walk alone with his right foot and my left foot and a stick. They're are competitions in the village here for climbing greased poles and It teaches kids climbing skills. The children learn a lot of things really early from walking long distance but being well behaved. It's really quiet in the morning but in the evening another couple checks in who are from Scotland. It's quite a nice thing watching people come up the steps (the gringo killer) after finishing the two or three day trek. They ve usually seen quite a few orangutans as well as other creatures and insects so the are exhausted but happy A little later I see Bayu coming up the steps with a pack of something. When I ask him if he's been to the village just for that and he says yes it's for tonight and hes been all the way down and up the stairs for a bag of cookies without breaking a sweat. Dion later sends me a picture of him on a drip but tells me he's fine and at home. I have a nice evening sitting on the porch with the staff listening to indonesian songs where all the different generations know the words. We talk about our families and for the first time I'm able to take myself to bed.Read more