Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,462

    Jungle woman

    August 25, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 30 °C

    I wake up this morning feeling grateful which given the circumstances is a little crazy. I have had an awesome trip and even if I wasn't to go home my plans need to change drastically. In the morning everyone is out apart from Bayu. It's nice because he's learning English and he's teaching me Indonesian. We listen to my favourite Indonesian song 'Di Sadiyan' and translate the words. One of the lines translates to pour water of peace. A little later Abang comes back and with him brings the Thomas leaf monkeys. They really come up close and personal and I enjoy watching them for over a hour. They have a name of Johnno for one of them but not the othes. The Thomas leaf monkey is endemic to north Sumatra so I enjoy this amazing opportunity. At one point Abang goes and hands one of them a banana. It's a beautiful site and without the injury I would never have seen half of this. I spend a good part of the day massaging my leg after being given an oil with various herbs in by one of the guides. It's really crazy how I'm struggling to find the time for my blog at the moment. A little later wawan returns with a huge stick insect bigger than my hand Demi delivers a promise by making me Lupic -sticky rice coated in coconut and psalm sugar syrup it looks and tastes so good I forgot to get a picture but it was delicious. I get invited to watch the boys playing takraw. The ball is thrown to the player on the left to keep it up in the air only with they're head chest knees and feet over a badminton net. As th game progresses you can hear monkeys in the distance and how close they have been getting I'm surprised they don't join in. Back at the ranch a couple have come back from a day trek and didn't manage to see an orangutan they are so dissapointed so I tell them that just over an hour ago they're were 3 orangutan just by the butterfly cabin and it might be worth a look. They come back ecstatic they managed to see them. Later in the evening I sit with Bayu and an insect drops on the table, even after using Google lens we still don't know what it is. Wawan joins us and he's constantly got ideas or is doing something and later in the evening has the guys re oiling the beautiful wooden tables here with nothing more than coconut and as they massage the coconut on the table the oil comes out from it, and all the money I've spent on oils and waxing products. I feel exhausted today so just before midnight hit the sack.Read more