Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,463

    Pure peace

    August 26, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 25 °C

    I wake this morning in a lot of pain although the swelling has gone down considerably. There are no treks today only people coming back and the two guests from yesterday went on the night bus last night. There's something rather relaxing about just lying here and listening to the sound of the jungle without any background noise and even with the foot drama I feel very relaxed and at peace. Later in the morning Wawan is asked to do a last minute airport pick-up and within minutes he's called someone and they will be at the airport in 20 minutes. Just before every one arrives Dion one of the guides has made me a crown and came over and crowned me queen of the jungle. Just as they do this the guys arrive back from they're overnight stay and I'm pleased they've seen so much Emma and Ewan are from Scotland and truly lovely people checking whether I need anything from the town as they're heading out for a few beers later. We all have a game of shithead and share a beer. Oliver is an astro scientist but explains how he bartered to get a price down from 200k to 150,k , gave the guy 200k and didn't realize they'd given him a 5000k with a drawn on zero to make it look like 50k The boys shout me that there are orangutan and I go down and watch them swinging through the branches on the other side of the stream. Dion tells me how the mother orangutan carries her baby for 6-7 years. That they never have twins and that pretty much as soon as the 6/7 yr old leaves she'll have another baby. The male just leaves. As we are sitting here we watch 2 hornbills hopping through the tree it really is like being queen of the jungle. The boys are playing takraw again but I prefer to stay and watch the wildlife tonight. Later in the evening we sit round the table transversing and joking when Wawan distracts me to show me a chameleon it just looks like a medium sized ghekko but Wawan catches it by its tail and it's wings come out. It's actually just like an attached piece of skin that they use to glide with. We also get a visit from the preying mantis again before the wind changes and I can se the lightning over the village. I wait a little while but in the end borrow an umbrella and waddle home.Read more