Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,464

    Orangutan before breakfast

    August 27, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    So before I've even had my morning coffee Abang shouts me that there is an orangutan, seriously I could do a planet earth edition here without moving from the restaurant. The boys bring me my morning brew and I take a different seat in the restaurant. I love the fact how in different places here there's a whole different view and sounds. It's wonderful because it so quiet that you can hear a branch break and that's a pretty sure sign there's a monkey about. Another couple checked in yesterday with they're son Laman who is just the nicest young man. He has a Lego space ship set and sits and plays for hours with it and eventually draws me into a game of Lego space invaders The longer I'm here the more in tune I'm getting with the jungle there a so many sounds and slowly I'm beginning to recognise different sounds. Seriously there are so many it's like a little orchestra playing around me. In the afternoon banana fritters called Tempe goreng are brought up from the village and as I'm chatting to my original guide Ajad tells me that a lot of the guides bring the orangutan out of the trees to the ground and that yesterday an orangutan had got angry because one or the other companies guide had got into trouble and he'd had to help to get it back in the tree. Wawan once again called me and shows me a huge bug with the most beautiful wings. The crazy thing is I Google lens it and it still can't tell me what it is.. maybe I've discovered a new insect. I get my prime position for the night but then when we try to get the United game on which is before it we can't and after lots of messing around realise in the small print that premiership games have only been paid for on his phone not on the TV as well. In the evening Dion tells me that in the village you can buy peanuts and drugs off the same guy. Sabu Sabu (crystal meth) is a big issue here, especially since covid where young people were bored and depressed. Saturday night in Bukit Lawang is party night and I have that groundhog feeling which is a good reminder of how long a week is. I've definitely decided to stay here till the 7/8 September and fly to Kl for a few days then fly on to Langkawi. Just after half time the girls come back from the village and even though it's really loud down there I don't think it gets busy till after midnight. I thoroughly enjoy watching the game on a big screen and of course our 9-0 win. It rains again tonight and when I get back to my lodge I've left the window open and have a pool of water in the middle of my floor. It's nothing that one of my towels won't fix. I mop up shut my window and fall asleep within minutes.Read more