Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,472

    How it all started

    September 4, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 26 °C

    I once again fall back to sleep this morning and eventually rise before 10. It's a nice day today and I enjoy a catch up with Wawan in the morning. The whole sanctuary here was set up In 1973, Regina Frey and Monica Boerner, two Swiss zoologists, established an orangutan rehabilitation centre at Bukit Lawang. This they called the Bohorok Orangutan Centre after the nearby town of Bohorok. Although illegal, orangutans were widely held as pets in Indonesia, and the centre sought to reintroduce them to the wild. It was supported by the WWF (World Wildlife Fund). The centre has since been closed and thankfully the Orangutan let back into the wild. And Regina is an owner of Ecolodge, another accommodation lodge here. The difference with On The Rocks is it's high up but the views and nature here are incredible. Abang isn't feeling good today so they have sent for the medicine man who gives him a massage. While he's here I decide to get another massage on my foot and Wawan gets his shoulder sorted 3 birds with 1 stone. We all feel much better Afterwards but at the time mine was painful to a point where I could feel myself close to fainting, but he really knows where the pain is and as they say no pain no gain. A little later I notice I've been bitten by something all along my arm. I use my pawpaw and don't really notice it anymore. @pawpaw if you want an ambassador for your product I'm the one. One again I get given pudding in the afternoon. This time it's bubur sum sum very similar to creme caramel but with rice as the base it's delicious. Today I've also seen a snake and a bat from the restaurant it's really a different thing every day the longer I stay the more I think I could live somewhere like this, so close to nature. I also learn that bats can walk and all cockroaches can fly, quite a scary thought. Barra comes back from the village and gives me a new lighter which is a Liverpool one it's so I don't lose it. As we settle in to watch the game, a grasshopper jumps onto the television and at some moments looks like a person on the pitch out of the corner of my eye. I watch the football till about midnight but retreat to bed exhausted.Read more