Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Rainy in Byron

    October 3, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Started the morning pretty early in order to make the 7:45am bus to Byron Bay. It was a long rainy ride, not to much to see... So I just took a nice long nap. The bus was luckily very empty so I got my own seat. No annoying neighbours.

    I arrived in Byron and it was pouring. I stowed my luggage at the hostel and went to get some food. I found a cute little cafe in a church, they were so sweet and made the best smoothies.

    I headed to the hostel to check in and change... And then came back to change again. As it was raining I was thinking warm clothes, but since it was pretty warm... I figured that it was better to wear less clothes so less gets wet... that's decent logic right? I went down to main beach and walked the entire length of it and then up to the "most Eastern point of the mainland" and then to the lighthouse. You will never guess what I encountered on this walk... you're right, more stairs.

    I walked back stopping at all the small beaches on the way, and the sun decided to come out. Oh my goodness was it gorgeous. I got to do my first lie down on the beach and tan. Don't think it did much, but it felt nice :) Then I got really creative with dinner and got Subway, and headed back to the hostel to chill. I have been very lucky twice in a row with only one roommate. *knock on wood*

    I am so wiped today... And now in looking at my step count, I can see why. Scored my highest one so far on this trip.

    👣's: 22885 - 17.74 km
    Read more