Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Day 5

    August 28, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 33 °C

    A really lovely walk again today with nothing too challenging.. I was tempted to try and keep up with the First Lady in a trail running race that was happening on a part of the route as I was sure I could have done😂.. there didn’t seem to be as many people on route today, whether some had started particularly early due to the forecasted temperatures if 36 degrees, I don’t know..
    i was walking up behind a couple of girls and heard one say that her shoulders were hurting from her rucksack.. the other girl replied that they’d only hurt for two weeks because after that God would have deemed her worthy from her struggle.. I missed the reply, but it didn’t sound like she was too happy to have to wait two weeks!!
    Weather was perfect for walking at 8am but did gradually get warmer and warmer, although there was quite a bit in the shade which was very welcome.. again spent the first hour and a half passing people.. keep waiting for a judge to jump out with a red paddle and accuse me of cheating 😳.. having said that, going through a biggish town before Pamplona all rucksacks ahead seemed to vanish and I kept worrying I’d gone wrong 😑
    Made it to Pamplona in really good time, but then found out that my accommodation was 1 - 1.5 km away from the route.. big panic 😱 how do I find it.. bigger panic.. how will I find my way back to it on Monday morning 😬worked the first part out, but no idea if I will in the morning ..
    Needless to say I arrived too early to check in.. so a beer and bite to eat it was!!
    The hotel tonight is way bigger and posher than any of the others, but I definitely prefer them as they were much friendlier and Camino orientated.. I was a tad uncomfortable turning up at this one with a pack on my back!!
    Off for my evening meal now.. can’t believe I couldn’t eat here before 8, that’s nearly my bed time 🥱 hope there’s something I like as I’m starving.. buenos noches..
    Read more