Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Day 6

    August 29, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 31 °C

    Well I found my way back to the route.. Google maps you rock!!! Who didn’t know the flashlight thing was the direction you were going.. probably only me 😳
    Great views, varied terrain..again!! .There don’t seem to be as many people on route as the first two days, I guess everyone is starting at the same point on the same day, but after that you can decide ( if you haven’t pre booked like me 🙄 ) to stop wherever you want as there are Auberge’s at reasonably regular intervals.
    I admit to not being religious, but do feel it would be disrespectful to put my headphones in and not truly see and absorb the amazing beauty of my surroundings ( can’t believe I’ve said that, but it’s true 😳 ) the journey today took me through fields of sunflowers that probably looked absolutely amazing 2 or 3 weeks ago, but we’re dry and dead now, wheat fields, long mountain trails and a kilometre or more of descent that can only be described as walking down the stones on Laxey beach .. for a km !!! Was far more tiring than the long climb had been and would have been awful if wet! The weather started off warm and sunny, moved to hot and hazy, to boiling, thunder and heavy rain, the latter after I’d finished!!
    I got to my finish point earlier than I’d expected, so felt it was more prudent to have alcohol free beer today!! Don’t worry though, I did enjoy the lovely Spanish red they provided at tea time 🤪
    Once again I had a Nana nap after my shower 😂 but felt so much better afterwards..
    I was halfway through my salad starter at dinner this evening when a Canadian lady came over and asked me to join her and her husband for the meal.. although very uncomfortable about it initially, I’m so glad I did, they were so lovely and told me all about their Camino so far and their hopes for the following weeks.. It would be nice to think I’d meet up with them again, but it’s probably unlikely as they seem to take about 8 hours to do the same distance as me and are booking accommodation as they go so they can shorten their days when necessary.
    Best meal so far tonight…
    Read more