Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Day 16

    September 8, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    I was awake pretty early this morning, I admit I was a little worried that I may have had a bit of a headache as two glasses of red wine is usually my limit 😬… no headache.. result!!
    Breakfast eaten.. It was time to head off…
    There were no worries this morning regarding the route as my accommodation was literally on it.
    It was lovely for walking first thing, no wind today meant it wasn’t quite so chilly.. it was a really enjoyable walk today which surprised me as I wasn’t expecting it to be with not much in the way of hills.. a few long gradual climbs saving the day 😂
    I went passed a guy really tramping on with his sticks ( very popular, can’t believe how many people use them ), when he suddenly came running up along side me to check if I was doing the marathon!! I assured him I wasn’t, he seemed relieved as he just said “very good, very good “.. I think it was a couple of Km’s and my taking a few photos before he believed me and settled back down to his own rhythm.. I also passed Ben and Chloe from last night and after a few words I got a hug from Chloe, discussing the difficulties of being a girl and needing a wee on route last night obviously brought us closer 😀
    One thing I have found amazing so far are the clouds.. I keep finding myself taking numerous pictures of them, they’re fantastic.
    I finished today in Castrojeriz, which is absolutely beautiful, but is like a ghost town, there are no people!!!! AND everywhere was closed, I think one bar and a shop were all that seemed to be open, and even the bar shut at lunchtime… by the time I had my evening meal, breakfast seemed like an age ago and I was seriously hungry!
    With everywhere closed and nothing much to do this afternoon I really wanted to sit down with a book! A proper paper book! No room in the bag, ..I hadn’t brought one .. then i remembered slipping my iPad mini down the side of my bag.. not paper, but it did have my kindle app on it, which was definitely better than nothing.
    Much to Steve’s irritation, I have absolutely no problem reading and re reading books I enjoy.. so what was it to be.. Jane Eyre or Wuthering Heights??… toss of a coin decided and Wuthering Heights it was. So I had a really relaxing and guilt free afternoon reading….
    Dinner this evening was fabulous.. but i was VERY hungry…they’d gone out of their way to make an alternative for me as everything that was on this evening’s menu contained meat.. so appreciated.
    I’m feeling pretty sleepy this evening, which is bizarre, as it was a shorter walk today and my spare time was spent lying on the bed reading!!
    Despite my fab meal, I’m already looking forward to breakfast!!!!😂
    Read more