Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27–33

    Roman Holiday- 1

    October 8, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 84 °F

    We left our accommodations before 0730 a.m. this morning. The scene was different from last night, but the litter was worse. No pride was seen in this city, but they do have passion for their hometowns. We left Napoli train station at 1050 a.m. I am dying today with fatigue and thirst. I could barely stay awake, and I am afraid I am coming down with something. The day is beautiful and hot. Apparently, at home, the weather is cold and rainy. We arrived at our accommodations by metro, which is just around the corner from the Spanish Steps. The first stop beside our door was gelato. Refreshing on a warm day. We settle in our rooms, and I nap for a solid hour and a half. Dead I was. I showered, which made me feel somewhat better. We had dinner from across the street. Spaghetti with marinara sauce take-out for 4.50 euros. We also had tiramisui from Pompeii. The best in Rome. I am not big on it, but it was good and not soggy. Tonight, we ventured out on a golf cart tour. Our guide was, from Sweden, and not bad to look at. He took us to places that are not popular tourist attractions, like the little version of the Colosseum, Maximus Circus. Driving can still be wild but more respectful than in Naples. We ended the night with a walk to the Spanish Steps for exercise. I am waiting to call the kids as soon as they get to Andrea's as it is Thanksgiving at home. We had a great day to start.Read more