Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Rome 2

    October 9, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 90 °F

    Ok so today I am still not feeling the greatest and I am popping pills and taking oil of oregano which is not as bad as I thought it would be. We have an early start for the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel, St Peter's Basilica, the Pope's Burials, and Square. It was a tour I looked forward to. I enjoyed the art more and was more aware of it this time around. Our guide was good and very passionate about his job. He helped Miriam get water from a vending machine. He told her that she put the money in the wrong slot, and the two chatted back and forth giving all of us, with our earpieces a chuckle, cause he was condescending to her. Linda also got reprimanded for not following directions, when she followed him and he turned saying "What are you doing here, I told you to stay over there, go back." Imagine Linda getting in trouble at the Vatican. We stopped for lunch. I ordered a Caesar salad and it came back with lettuce, corn, carrots, olives, tomato, and chicken, with no dressing. I questioned it and I was wrong. We went back to the apartment. I had to take a nap. All but Miriam and I took off to tour Rome. Miriam woke me to go for dinner and we met up with the rest at a restaurant down the street. Oh, what a great Thanksgiving meal. We had lots of robust wine, lots of laughs, great food, and beautiful music. Our waiter was awesome and entertaining. He treated us very well but I am sure it came at us with a cost. I am so grateful for this trip and the sights and experiences I have had. Great friendships! Miriam and I did a walk around the block and had gelato. It was a great end to a wonderful day until... Remember the oil of oregano, I guess I was having a placebo. It turned out that Linda gave me shampoo. No wonder I was cleaned out today as I have had a couple of doses. We laughed hysterically. Well, I had the real stuff and OMG that stuff is terrible. Good night.Read more