Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Chapman’s Peak, hike with my new friend

    February 14 in South Africa ⋅ ☁️ 22 °C

    There was one beautiful thing that I forgot to mention about my visit to Langa, the township: I made friend with Vanessa in an instant. ☺️ Vanessa is from Zimbawe, her tribe is originally from South Africa, but her great grandparents were taken to Zimbawe as slaves. She returned to South Africa to finish highschool, now lives in (the better side of) Langa, and sells paintings in the cultural center - that’s how we know each other. ✨ Apparently, Vanessa was looking for some hiking buddies as her girlfriends don’t really hike so we agreed that we’d go together, and we did. 🌈 We climbed the Chapman’s Peak with a stunning view, took around 5 hours for the full hike but mostly because we chatted so much that we just had to stop all the time haha. We were starvin by the end, so went to have fish at a local place which turned out to be a bit too “authentic” to my liking, it was all fine, but definitely not an area that I would go back alone or ever. 😅 Vanessa eventually stayed over, we watched a South African movie until the load shedding came cutting off our fun. 😂 This was my best Valentine’s day ever!! 💖Read more