Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Busan Day 3

    October 24, 2017 in South Korea ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    A very "local" day as the weather deteriorates over the day. No bus, subway or train trips - huzzah!

    Coffee at Angel-in-us again - same server, nobody else around, a little bit Groundhog Day. I walk from there towards Yongdusan Park. This is where Busan Tower is located and I want to check out the view from the observatory. Naturally, the tower is located a fair way uphill in the park. Very very fortuitously I find the side street that leads to a bank of escalators (5 perhaps) that means I don't have to take the stairs. Some decent views of Busan at the top of the escalator stack, also a GS25 store, which are my "go to" stores for most food and drink.

    So I walk over to the ticket office for the Observatory. Sorry sir, there's a fire. No ticket. Bummer. So I walk down all those stairs to ground level.

    There's a Lotte mall across from the park, so I wander in. Level 1F is food court territory along with a supermarket. At the higher levels there are cinemas. A quick Google search reveals that "Blade Runner 2049" is playing here at 4:05 pm. I buy some rice paper wraps (see photo) and head back to the hotel. It is possible to walk the complete way from Lotte Mall underground!

    The weather starts to deteriorate as the afternoon goes on. Around 3:30 it's drizzling. I head back to the cinemas for the movie - walking underground I don't have to worry about the weather. It costs around $10 to buy the movie ticket. There's allocated seating, but on entry to the cinema I sit where I want ...

    The movie's great, with Korean subtitles so fortunately not dubbed. A guy takes a 5 minute phone call during the movie, different culture what? I'm around the last to leave, sitting through most of the credits. I think that something I had for lunch has had a gluten effect on me, it's been a while since that's happened 😫
    Read more