Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Busan Day 4 morning

    October 25, 2017 in South Korea ⋅ ☀️ 14 °C

    The weather is excellent today so I decide to check out some of Busan's coastline.

    The island of Yeongdo is connected to the mainland by a number of bridges. One of these is not far away from where I'm staying. The #8 bus takes me over this bridge and deposits me not far from the front of Taejongdae Park.

    There is a circular path around the park that runs along the coastline. I am distracted by a monument to medical units so then start to walk clockwise along the path. If I'd walked anti-clockwise, I would have passed the park complex containing tourist information and tickets for the Danubi Train. This road "train" is very cute and runs anti-clockwise around the park. Passengers with a ticket can hop on and off when the train pulls up at various destinations.

    To be honest I was never going to take this train. And tourist information wasn't really needed. The first attraction is the lighthouse. It's not possible to go into the lighthouse but there is very decent coastline scenery from the vicinity.

    Further along is an eatery complex with a top floor observatory. While the eateries look open I don't think the observatory is. There are a lot of middle-aged and elderly people milling around, are they waiting for the train (or Godot)?

    I walk further around so I'm now on the west side of the park. There is a pebble beach here and steps down. I'm up for the challenge so hike down. It's not the easiest thing to walk on the pebbles!

    Further along I reach the park complex. Ah well. I walk off and take the #8 bus back to the hotel.
    Read more