Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Puno - 3,827 metres

    August 10, 2022 in Peru ⋅ 🌙 9 °C

    On the move again, this time to Puno on Lake Titicaca. Puno's altitude is 3,827m and Lake Tititcaca is the world's highest navigable lake. Despite having come by coach and slowly increased altitude (Arequipa is 2,335m) I found myself suffering from headaches, and even climbing the stairs was an effort that left me breathless. Coca tea (a brew made from the leaves of the plant that gives us cocaine!) helped. I also got some altitude sickness tablets from the pharmacy - but three days later discovered they contained caffeine, which explained (having not drunk caffeine for 13 years, except for a mishap with a jägerbomb a few years back) my problems sleeping! Fortunately for the most part all was fine after a day or so.Read more